The Seed of the Year winner is selected on his/her contributions to the seed market through variety development — we want to link this to the future by allowing the winner of the award to present scholarships to students enrolled at a masters or PhD level in plant breeding or plant genetics at either the University of Guelph, University of Alberta, University of Saskatchewan, or the University of Manitoba.

Our goal is to make this a long term part of Seed of the Year and have a scholarship available each season to be provided to the university program chosen by the winner of Seed of the Year.

Current criteria:

  1. Masters or PhD candidate enrolled in plant breeding or plant genetics
  2. Academic record – past two years
  3. Two letters of recommendation
  4. Resume or letter outlining education, work history, and extracurricular activities
  5. Recipient must be willing to allow his/her name to be released in a news release

Each season, scholarship applications will be posted at the universities by late summer with applications due by Oct. 31. 

Seed of the Year would like to acknowledge its sponsors: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Alberta Barley Commission, Alberta Wheat, Canterra Seeds, Canadian Seed Growers’ Association, Canadian Seed Trade Association, FP Genetics, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Richardson International, Sask Wheat, SeCan and Western Grains Research Foundation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>