Scott Horner of HyTech Production Ltd., in Lethbridge, Alberta, has become the 64th president of the Canadian Seed Trade Association.  He accepted the president’s gavel during the Association’s 92nd annual meeting in Windsor.

Horner is a familiar face to members and stakeholders alike and is well-known for his active contributions to the association.  Scott has been a member of the board of directors since 2008, and represents CSTA on the board of directors of the Seed Association of the Americas. He has been chairman of both the International Committee and the Hybrid Canola Seed Production Sub-Committee. An experienced leader, he brings more than 20 years of national and international seed sector experience to the role.

He will lead an active board of directors, focused on serving members and growing the value of the seed industry.  Joining Horner in 2015-2016 will be: Dave Baute, Maizex Seeds, Past-President; Brent Derkatch, Canterra Seeds, 1st Vice-President; Dan Wright, Monsanto Canada, 2nd Vice-President; Doug Alderman, Pride Seeds; Jeff Bertholet, BASF Canada Inc.; Georges Chaussé, La Coop Fédérée; Darrell Dziver, BrettYoung Seeds; Wayne Gale, Stokes Seeds Limited; Todd Hyra, SeCan; Duane Johnson, Syngenta Canada; George Lammertsen, Bayer CropScience; Kevin McCallum, DL Seeds; Ellen Sparry, C & M Seeds; Marty Vermey, Dow Seeds; and  Matt Hynes, American Seed Trade Association representative.

CSTA also paid tribute to past-president Peter Entz whose term on the board of directors has ended. Entz was first elected in July 2006 and guided the association as president in 2013-2014. He was instrumental in developing CSTA’s position on variety registration.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>