News Seed of the Year 2006 announced at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Seed of the Year 2006 announced at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair


A soybean variety with outstanding performance, sustainability, marketability, and industry impact topped entries in the second annual “Seed of the Year” competition.

Harovinton soybean, developed by Dr. Richard Buzzell at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s Harrow Research Centre, was named Seed of the Year Wednesday, November 8, 2006, at a recognition event at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair in Toronto.

For 15 years, Harovinton soybeans have shown exceptional consistency in making quality tofu. Its resistance to root rot and tolerance for the metribuzin herbicide have produced consistent yields across Ontario and abroad.

Harovinton’s success, particularly in the Japanese tofu market, has played a crucial role in fostering the development of Canada’s identity preserved food grade soybean export market.

Three other finalists for Seed of the Year were also recognized at the event. Harus wheat, developed by Abe Teich of Agriculture and Agri-food Canada’s Harrow Research Centre; OAC Prudence, a soybean variety developed by University of Guelph Prof. Istvan Rajcan; and OAC Rex, a white bean variety developed by Guelph Prof. Peter Pauls, former professor Tom Michaels, and technician Tom Smith, were also recognized for their contributions to the agri-food sector.

Through the Seed of the Year application process, public breeders are encouraged to highlight their research accomplishments in developing a new field crop, forage, fruit, vegetable or herb variety. Any publicly developed Canadian variety is eligible to compete.

The competition has been designed by the University of Guelph and SeCan with support from the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. Additional sponsorship has been provided by Ontario Bean Producers’ Marketing Board, Ontario Soybean Growers and Ontario Wheat Producers’ Marketing Board.